Beautiful Xylophone

I came across this while working on a project with the wonderful Musique et Sante, Paris. For over 20 years, they have been pioneering music work in hospitals of all kinds.

This xylophone is a delight to work with! Basically, it’s frameless – it rests on what looks like gas pipe tubing. What this means in practice is that it can be placed on a floor or table; walked all over by small people, and is virtually indestructible even by big ones. I’ve always found xylophones to be very sociable instruments, especially larger ones, as they allow several people to play together, using all the sides. It looks gorgeous as well!

I think you have to order them custom-made, and I don’t have my own yet, but I will one day!

Posted on June 20, 2011, in Kit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment